Fix the UI or die!

Story: The GIMP at a crossroadsTotal Replies: 5
Author Content
dthacker

Feb 25, 2005
1:08 PM EDT
First this disclaimer. I am not an artist, nor will I ever be. I am a cloner of web-themes, adjuster of image sizes, and practitioner of casual customization. I think the the GIMP interface is one of the most difficult things I've had to learn in the GNU/Linux world. I've spent hours trying to figure out how to get to point A from point B, and I've rarely been satisfied that I've got the technique mastered. Compared to this, tuning an OLTP database is a walk in the park. When you fire up the GIMP, you can't help but be simultaneously dazzled and baffled by the amount of buttons and levers you've been given to work with. I'd love it if the interface at the top was much simpler, and guided poor souls like me down to the level and tools that I need to complete my task. I realize that this is a massive undertaking, but I think it's critical to the product (or products, if the developers choose to split the app) Last year at OSCON, TIm O'Reilly talked about the trends that book sales showed him about new technology. In my search for books on the GIMP , I couldn't find anything published after 2000. That's a very disturbing trend for an application that's a key part of the GNU toolset. I hope the trend changes over the next 24 months.

DT
PaulFerris

Feb 25, 2005
3:17 PM EDT
Time to write one then! --Paul
Kagehi

Feb 25, 2005
3:40 PM EDT