These guys are good!

Story: The Open Source HereticTotal Replies: 5
Author Content
chappaquachap

May 28, 2005
5:14 PM EDT
McVoy is quoted as saying

"The open source guys can scrape together enough resources to reverse engineer stuff. That's easy. It's way cheaper to reverse engineer something than to create something new. But if the world goes to 100% open source, innovation goes to zero. The open source guys hate it when I say this, but it's true."

Oddly enough his actions have spurred a definitely non-zero level of innovation...

Much has been written about the Linux/Bitkeeper controversy. The most interesting thing I've yet seen is is about GIT, the open-source solution replacement for BitKeeper being put together by Torvalds and friends; in particular, http://kerneltraffic.org/git/gt20050502_1.html, a summary of the first two weeks of traffic on the GIT mailing list. I printed out a copy (80 pages or so) and read much of it.

Now I've been coding for several decades and have even co-authored a paper in this area (SCM). I knew the Linux folks were good, but I had no idea they were this good. The amount of innovation, the pace of development, is just breathtaking. Absolutely overwhelming.

So to those who wonder about the fate of Linux and open-source I say don't worry. You don't need to "get the facts"; you just to read some kernel traffic e-mail archives from time to time.
chappaquachap

May 28, 2005
5:16 PM EDT
The Git Traffic entry can be found at http://kerneltraffic.org/git/gt20050502_1.html, and also by google on 'git traffic'.
PaulFerris

May 29, 2005
3:11 AM EDT
chappaquachap: There are facts and there is crap like this story. Let's look at this from a totally different perspective.

Regardless of the want of Linux on the desktop, which is how most people view the operating system, it's really mostly made strides as an infrastructure heavyweight -- looking at it from a GUI perspective, a lot of people draw stupid conclusions like McVoy.