women in tech, dweebs, and cool people

Story: Getting in touch with the feminine side of open sourceTotal Replies: 9
Author Content
tuxchick

Aug 08, 2005
12:03 PM EDT
I'm relatively new to computing, unlike y'all antique geekbeards who cut your teeth on abacuses and Eniacs and such. I picked up my first PC in 1993, a Mac II it was, or Mac ][ maybe, in typical silly Apple fashion. I experienced my share of idiot men who just can't handle dumb ole gurls invading their clubhouses, but for the most part it's been a great experience. Maybe being old and grumpy helps. :) My best mentors have mostly been men, and I'm very grateful to all the people who are so generous with their time and knowledge.

I'd like to see more events like this OSCON panel, because visible role models make a big difference. And maybe they can even do more than discussing women's problems and issues in tech, and just be high-profile geek women working on interesting projects.

My fave true-life personal clueless dood story: I was shopping at ENU, a good little computer shop west of Portland, Oregon. I was "assisted" by a young, inexperienced clerk who didn't let his lack of knowledge hamper his self-assurance. Poor lad, I know I was speaking good clear English, but it was like my words just bounced off his head. Or perhaps my loveliness distracted him. At any rate, with much effort I finally got it through his head that I did indeed know what I wanted, and I really did expect him to sell stuff to me.

The crowning touch came as I was leaving- he grabbed a computer magazine off a rack and gave it to me, explaining that it was a great magazine for noobs. When I opened it and showed him a Linux article that I had written, I wish to this day that I had been able to film his reaction. Jaw dropped, beet-reed blush, stammered something that might have been an apology, and ran away fast.

I hope that induced a lasting raising of his consciousness!
peragrin

Aug 08, 2005
4:47 PM EDT