Is this for real? No way.

Story: How Microsoft Got its OS Declared an "Open System" and wound up in GovernmentTotal Replies: 21
Author Content
avenger

Nov 02, 2005
6:07 PM EDT
OK. I'm not a Linux proponet. I'm still getting SUSE 10 to work so I can write java server pages with Apache and MySQL. I admit, Linux is much better than I thought.

I really get turned off by all this adversarial bullsh*t. This is the more friendlier of the Linux News sites. I typically do not read these kind of articles. So, it's unusual for me to do so.

BUT. Now, I see why Linux people are worried about Microsoft. I didn't pay attention to the trial and all the anti-trust stuff. I just figured it was jealousy. Maybe it is.

This goes a little far.

It's exaggerated, right?
tadelste

Nov 02, 2005
6:11 PM EDT
So, are you a typical mainstream American? Don't believe what you read?

Give me a break. If anything Stephe soft-peddled the story.

I wouldn't have been so gracious, but then he didn't have the benefit of the trial records. Nor did he know a trial would happen in 1995.

jimf

Nov 02, 2005
8:55 PM EDT
I don't believe in MS bashing for the sake of bashing Avenger, but, Microsoft's track record in underhanded business, addressing user concerns, and overall shoddy product quality is very well documented. This is not adversarial, Just factual.
Tsela

Nov 03, 2005
12:10 AM EDT
avenger: exaggerated? We wish. Just check out http://www.vanwensveen.nl/rants/microsoft/IhateMS.html. I wish he was exaggerating, but unfortunately he isn't. When you just list together all the sneaky, underhanded business methods Microsoft has used to create and maintain its monopoly, with complete disregard of any laws or ethics, do you find it abnormal that some people feel their blood boil?