It is ALL ideological...

Story: Why Open Document Failed In Massachusetts and How it Could Have Been DifferentTotal Replies: 4
Author Content
stuartr

Dec 04, 2005
11:51 PM EDT
and must be. It is just a matter of what ideology you are talking about. Is it FOSS software only, or is it non-proprietary storage of data? Is it universal access, thru the persons with disabilities act (PWDA), or is it universal access, thru the yet to be written "I will not pay public monies in perpetuity to a private corporation for access to MY freakin public information stored in dis-functional MS meta-standards act"

I have some sympathy for the article and its message, as an Engineer I always appreciate the realistic view. But I think the author is thinking too small. Massachusetts IS the "equivalent to a mid-cap company", what we need is a NATIONAL switch in ideology, away from 'ask not what your government can do for your corporation' thinking, and a return to a focus on the real customers of government - the people. We pay the taxes, we own the data, we elect these sycophants - not MS (at least in theory anyway).

Unless you are supporting the right cause for the wrong reasons, NEVER appologize for your beliefs! YOU, WE, OWN the damn information that is encoded in these documents, and to have a corporation control the LANGUAGE we speak is rediculous! I really don't care if Word is the single most ubiquitous pile of crap word processor on the face of the planet, if I don't pay MS to licence it, I cant view documents I already own?!??! If MS told you tomorrow you will have to learn swalehili in order to read what is in your documents, I have a feeling most of us would tell them to get stuffed... so why do we allow them to tell us we will speak MSWord??? I still have no Idea what thats all about!