I don't like weird commercial hybrids

Story: Time to Cull Proprietary Software from Open Source BrandingTotal Replies: 4
Author Content
IGnatiusTFoobar

Jan 04, 2006
8:40 AM EDT
Either open the source completely or don't play. You take something, you give something back, and that's how the open source community works.

The idea of "using" the open source community as a source of free development manpower is disgusting.

It's funny that you mention groupware, because as a groupware developer I've observed this exact tactic in several projects in this area which only give lip service to open source. Open Xchange, Zimbra, and others, basically started with all sorts of existing open source components, then layered their own proprietary stuff on top. Without the open source components, their products are useless. Without their proprietary layer, their products are useless. Where is the benefit?

It's even worse when you see a product that is failing in the marketplace (such as Novell's NetMail) being opened up as a last-ditch effort to turn abandonware into a viable product. Use the open source community's energy, but retain the rights to sell a proprietary version. Again, it's disgusting.

Just open the source. Period. Let the open source community do what it does best: produce quality software efficiently.
dthacker

Jan 04, 2006
11:11 AM EDT
Iggy, how would you rate MySQL? They're releasing the source, most of their developers are on staff, but they sell a propietary license. Just curious. Dave
Teron

Mar 18, 2006
9:50 AM EDT
Or Linspire, for that matter? At least according to Kevin Carmony, the only proprietary app Linspire has is the CNR client, and that's it. They polish the programs in their CNR repositories and make the source downloadable to anyone for free. They sponsor multiple FOSS projects, such as Gaim. Would you have them quit the market?
chappaquachap

Mar 18, 2006
2:13 PM EDT
What is wrong with a " commercial hybrid"?