What Kind of Computer User Are You?

Forum: LXer Meta ForumTotal Replies: 32
Author Content
dcparris

Feb 09, 2006
3:38 PM EDT
Here at LXer, we strive to bring a wide range of news from a variety of sources. Of course, it helps to understand our audience a little better. With that in mind, we would like to know how you use computers.

Are you a developer, system admin, IT executive, a "knowledge worker", or a home user? Do you run a SOHO or do you work in a global enterprise? What subjects are most important to you?

Thanks in advance for helping us to make this the best GNU/Linux news site on the web!
jdixon

Feb 09, 2006
5:01 PM EDT
Desktop support technician at work (Windows, unfortuantely). General computer use at home (Linux for everything except games).
multics

Feb 10, 2006
4:37 AM EDT
I am a C/C++ SW developer (developing for the EDA industry).
SFN

Feb 10, 2006
4:46 AM EDT
Network manager for a regional bank. Also run a localized net-based radio station. Plus a home user - normal stuff: web, email, games, etc.
SamShazaam

Feb 10, 2006
5:00 AM EDT
Network and telecom manager at work. At home I use Linux exclusively. I use games on a console.

I am especially interested in networking, new applications, legal issues, etc.
number6x

Feb 10, 2006
1:21 PM EDT
programmer analyst working as a consultant for the last 10 years. I work mainly on Java GUI front ends for existing green screen COBOL/ DB2 / CICS apps.

Been learning Ruby on Rails as my personal project for 2006.

You know the schpeil "leverage your investment in existing systems utilizing the latest technology in user facing frameworks and platforms."

When you learn to speak like that the PHB's know you're worth the per hourly rates their paying. They get a kind of dazed look in their eyes, like the denizens of opium dens, but without the bad smell and other side effects. They've even taken me along to some luncheons to daze the higher ups and board members now and then.

;-)
Koriel

Feb 10, 2006