Got one of these systems at work

Story: Userful Inc, Linux Computers and Administration CompanyTotal Replies: 3
Author Content
linuxlibrarian

Mar 28, 2006
5:15 AM EDT
I've been advocating for Linux in my public library for a few years now, and recently got the Userful (with a "r", guys :) ) system put in place in lieu of our old Windows desktops.

The difference is phenomenal. Sure, not *truly* open source, but honestly, whereas I might care about that on my home system, I sure as hell just want the best tool for the job at work. Honestly, I don't mind closed source as long as the system *works*. This works like a charm.

Before our systems were riddled with spyware, viruses, and people managed to find ways around our lockdown software. We had hours of downtime a week.

With the Userful system, there's been about ten-fifteen minutes of downtime when we changed a dodgy memory stick.

I am a one woman IT department. Userful is a godsend, and it *does* get people's interest piqued in open source applications. And it gets them over the fear that Linux is difficult to use.

Prior to using Userful, I did small experiments in the library with Xandros (just because it was the easiest to lockdown straight from the install) and they were highly successful. The Userful solution is great because it takes a lot of the burden off me and I can concentrate on what I became a systems librarian for... delivering services, not cleaning people's crap off public computers.

So go easy on the fact it's a hybrid system. It's opening doors for a lot of people... not just the implementors, but the users, as well. :)

shoe
Herschel_Cohen

Mar 28, 2006
5:42 AM EDT
Sorry, I corrected it again, assuming the added "r" was the usual sort of typo I commit repeatedly. Tom had corrected it earlier and I screwed it up, but "Who Knew? Certainly not I". [I can carry this on for a long time, but I will spare you this time so that you can serve the people. In stead of reading crappy humor.]