A needed article

Story: Innovation in Linux: An extraordinary Linux reviewTotal Replies: 10
Author Content
evoman142

Apr 09, 2006
10:10 AM EDT
I have been looking for an article like this for six months now. This is exactly what I needed to read, not a how-to on compiling and installing there are plenty of articles out there for that, but what each of the options do. I am not a total newb, nor am I a kernel guru, yet I cannot seem to find help on what features I need. I read the options when compiling my kernel but am unsure about all of the features so I went through a lot of trial and error with mixed results. This is good a good map of features that is needed for the non-experts who want it to just work.
Bob_Robertson

Apr 09, 2006
10:39 AM EDT
Starting with a precompiled kernel is a great idea. Change one thing, see what happens. I like the Debian kernels because everything that can be a "module", other that a good variety of boot devices, of course, are built that way. So recompiling has never been needed, by me anyway.
hkwint

Apr 09, 2006
1:31 PM EDT
Thanks for the compliments.

The article was not meant as an HOWTO, but if it's helpfull, that's great!

You see, to write a really helpful HOWTO, I would need to know much more about the options. This are only the options I am aware of, but I don't run servers or embedded devices, only a desktop etc.

I wrote the artcile because I configured a kernel from scratch, and you can't imagine how much work that is, even when you know your way around. I spent longer configuring the kernel than Xorg took to compile, for example. And all those stuff made me curious. I mean, that's how to learn about the kernel: start wondering about those features.

I agree it's a good idea to turn things on and off, but I prefer looking on wikipedia, the internet, and the Documentation. All documentation can be found in

/usr/src/kernel/Documentation

by the way.

So just keep trying, and most important, don't be afraid.
Bob_Robertson