Awesome

Story: A Gentoo diary: IntroTotal Replies: 10
Author Content
carpenike

Jun 22, 2006
9:56 AM EDT
Lookin forward to reading the rest of your posts.

I've been using Gentoo for the last 2 years or so, mainly on and off though.

I play Counterstrike and the like, which, unfortunately, doesn't run well at all under Linux.

Getting a laptop next month at some point though, and I plan on installing Gentoo on it... Will be interested to read more about your setup as you go along!
hkwint

Jun 22, 2006
1:24 PM EDT
Thanks, it's nice to hear readers appreciate the article.
tuxchick2

Jun 22, 2006
2:57 PM EDT
I haven't tried Gentoo yet, just haven't had time. But I do use the Gentoo Wiki a lot- it's a great howto resource. Just skip over the Gentoo-specific bits. I'm guessing that Gentoo attracts geekier types, so they write better howtos. :)
grouch

Jun 23, 2006
3:33 AM EDT
Gentoo is destroying the planet! All that heat from Gentoo users endlessly recompiling everything is melting the polar ice caps! Just compiling KDE and OOo by Gentoo users is enough to turn Quebec into a tropical rainforest!
tuxchick2

Jun 23, 2006
7:16 AM EDT
Out here in the desert, it used to be a lush semi-tropical forest. So I'm setting up a Gentoo compilation farm to help bring it back.
hkwint

Jun 24, 2006
6:49 AM EDT
OOo isn't compiled anymore by Gentoo users, just because the sheer amount of time involved: There's precompiled OOo-bin (and mozilla-firefox-bin) now. Yes, it is possible to build it from source, but it's not needed anymore. Also, Sun's JRE can't be compiled (because it ain't open), so that's precompiled also (blackdown_jre isn't by the way).

I once compiled OOo from source, back when I used FreeBSD (it wasn't in the pkg's back then, only in ports), and it was the most annoying compile I ever did, if I'd forget about Opera on OpenBSD. I had to stop several times because of license stuff, and download things myself.