Hello Everyone! Need help to solve Red Hat Enterprise Linux Questions! Please help me!

Forum: LXer Meta ForumTotal Replies: 19
Author Content
robertsean1

Jan 28, 2007
12:02 PM EDT
Hello Everyone!

I'm a currently working on a project related to RHEL. I'm new to this [RHEL]; therefore, I need input from individuals that work with RHEL (Red Hat Enterprise Linux). If possible, can you please anwsers the following questions. Any response to the following question will be really appreciated and will be really helpful to me

Thank you

Regards, Robert Sean

Are you using any virtualization software, if so which one and why. Also, wondering, if you are using any J2EE Server, if so which one and why?

What do you think about RHEL 5 beta 2

What do you like and what don't you like in RHEL 5 Beta 2

What do you think would be the key reasons for customers to use RHEL5

Is migrating from RHEL 4 to RHEL 5 straight forward or are there issues, how about from RHEL 3 to RHEL 5

Are you seeing Red Hat doing anything different with RHEL 5 release

Do you think people will upgrade to RHEL 5

Who do you think is the main competition and who do you think will win and why

tqk

Jan 28, 2007
8:26 PM EDT
"Are you using any virtualization software, if so which one and why."

No. Why would I? All the software I use runs quite well natively in Linux. I've heard of others using such things as bochs, vmware, xen, qemu, & etc. I've also heard of some people using vm's for testing software they're developing.

"What do you think about RHEL 5 beta 2"

I think it's probably expensive, and business likes it because Oracle approves of it. I've no such limitation.

"What do you think would be the key reasons for customers to use RHEL5"

Support from commercial vendors and Oracle.

"Is migrating from RHEL 4 to RHEL 5 straight forward or are there issues, how about from RHEL 3 to RHEL 5"