Help! I got my first job interview

Forum: LXer Meta ForumTotal Replies: 47
Author Content
Sander_Marechal

Feb 04, 2007
11:39 PM EDT
Hey guys (and gals), I need some help. I have a job interview tomorrow for the position of "programmer / business analyst" for a mid-size web development company (50-100 people). Truth be told, I never had a real job interview before. Ever. So I have no clue what to expect. All I ever did was a short interview at a logistics company for a practical term when I was still studying at the university. After I graduated I ended up working there without an interview and I've moved with the company each time it was sold.

The job description is kind of vague (typical HR-speak) but it looks like it's for a position in a small team of programmers that builds the toys and framework that the rest of the company uses to build websites for clients. They ask for 3 years programming experience (language unspecified) and knowledge of PHP, XML, MySQL and HTML.

What else do I know? Uhh... I'll be interviewed by their senior HR lead (a very nice sounding lady) and the senior/lead programmer. And they either want me real bad or they have trouble filling positions because I was called for an interview within two hours of sending my CV and motivation (for a different position -- junior programmer) and they hadn't bother reading my CV (because the HR lady kept asking me questions I answered in my CV, like "Do the terms PHP and MySQL mean anything to you?").

So, what can I expect? I've never had a job interview, let alone for a programming position (I'm educated as a business engineer). What kind of questions could they ask me? What should I bring, except for a spare copy of my letter, CV and a notepad + pen? Suffice to say I'm pretty nervous about all of this :-)

Thanks in advance people!
swbrown

Feb 05, 2007
1:16 AM EDT