Help me choose a gnu/linux distribution...

Forum: LinuxTotal Replies: 14
Author Content
aanderse

Jun 15, 2009
3:23 PM EDT
A brief history: I'm in my mid 20's and believe strongly in free software. I support floss by answering forum posts, submitting small patches every once in a while, and convincing friends, family, and co-workers to try out gnu/linux. I do make comprimises though: my wireless card has no linux driver so I'm using ndiswrapper currently, I use the binary nvidia drivers, and I write dot net code in windows at work all day. I've been using gnu/linux for about 5 years now and refuse to run any non gnu based machines at home. I started gnu/linux with fedora 3, and then moved to ubuntu. I've run gentoo, foresight, mandriva, puppy, damn small linux, and a hand full of other gnu/linux distributions over the years, but have been pretty dedicated to debian as of late. I've also used gnome, kde, xfce, and fluxbox in the past, but I'm currently a KDE4 user.

My problem: For various reasons (including, but not limited to the ubuntu flame fight for mono which has recently spilled over into debian ... more on mono later) I would like to find a new gnu/linux distribution.

Criteria, etc...: I *love* debian! At least I did... debian is simple, powerful, and it most certainly just works. I have a very solid grasp of gnu/linux environments. I compile libraries I use regularily. I want the core parts of my desktop to "just work".

My issues with gentoo linux were mostly around 1) how long it took me to install it (300 + page installation manual) 2) I want my core desktop to "just work" 3) I like to show off to non-gnu/linux users how awesome gnu/linux is (compiling software doesn't do that) There are certain things I absolutely love about gentoo, though, like the fact that I don't have any dependencies I don't want (that's a huge plus for me), I don't have to worry about unecessary bloat, etc..