installation problem....while installing LENNY 5.0....Help

Forum: LinuxTotal Replies: 9
Author Content
raisun

Aug 14, 2009
8:07 AM EDT
I dont know whether this is an unique problem........I am new to linux.....and also new to Debian Lenny 5.0

I was trying to install Lenny 5.0 in my system which already has Windows XP in it. But now it started developing problems....

Let me explain in steps.....what i did.......

1. I have a sony dvd rom....which i am using for installing Lenny.

2. The dvd rom (IDE) is connected as a secondary master on my motherboard.

3. Unfortunately the dvd rom wont read the installation DVD.

4. Now i used another LG DVD writer (SCSI) for installation.

5. The SCSI is connected as a Third Master.

6. Now i can boot from the dvd and the installation starts.....but when it reaches the DETECT CD ROM and MOUNT it does not detect the SCSI drive but it checks for the IDE drive.

7. I tried by removing the IDE drive connection from the motherboard But it shows the message " NO CD ROM DETECTED". even when the SCSI is still connected.

8. When I connect the IDE Drive it shows " NO CD IN THE DRIVE"...eventhough the installation cd is in the SCSI drive.

9. Now i cannot connect the SCSI drive as secondary master....as Both my primary and secondary are IDE.

10. I do not know whether this is a Hardware problem or Linux problem...

SO THE QUESTION I AM ASKING IS: * Is there any way i can make Linux detect the SCSI drive.....without setting it as the secondary.

* Is it possible that Lenny has a default settings of detecting drives in secondary master.

* I am new to linux.....so please help...and if possible give a detailed....answer.

It did ask for the location for the installation CD... It did ask for the device file to be mounted on....or something similar to that......

it had the path.... /dev/cdrom

now i know cdrom is not correct....but i hav to specify the file name.......i.e /dev/filename...