calling all electronics geeks

Forum: LXer Meta ForumTotal Replies: 12
Author Content
tuxchick

Dec 02, 2009
11:22 PM EDT
What does it take to become proficient in learning your way around the guts of audio equipment like receivers, amps, CD and tape players? Is that something that can be learned from books and nothing-to-lose electronic carcasses, or is that something better learned in a classroom? What kind of tools constitute a basic kit, and what sort of costs? I know, "it depends"... I'm just trying to get an idea of a starting point and a general overview.
tracyanne

Dec 03, 2009
12:17 AM EDT
You could learn it from books and carcasses, but as you say, that depends. It depends on your aptitude, your previous experience in other related areas, and simply your ability to pick things up. You are already a pretty technically oriented person.

I haven't touched that sort of thing in years, I used to be an Audio technician, designing speaker systems, worked for Sanyo in New Zealand.

It's not difficult, but it does take a bit of time and patience to learn a bunch of new stuff.

Probably didn't help at all.
azerthoth

Dec 03, 2009
12:36 AM EDT
I did my learning the hard way, several metric tons of schematics and learning how to fly some really archaic test equipment.
tuxchick

Dec 03, 2009
1:04 AM EDT
What I have in mind is learning how to do simpler fixes, like re-aligning the lasers in CD drives. To give one notorious example, there are several generations of Thinkpad CD/DVD drives known for creeping slightly out of alignment, and IBM and Lenovo are good about replacing them. But all they do is whack the things back into line and ship them out again, so you have this giant rotating pool of dumb CD drives circulating endlessly around the planet. One of their engineers told me it was a minor tweak to the manufacturing process to prevent it, which naturally was a big hairy deal and took years to implement.