Mint: Security Update 1st of May - where did it go?

Forum: LinuxTotal Replies: 0
Author Content
TxtEdMacs

May 01, 2011
10:59 AM EDT
Notification indicated six files were ready for a security update. It was an odd mix of three files each one set new never loaded previously and the other for an earlier version (I remember the latter's last numbers being the 23rd, but the former was either 28 [reasonable] or some thing thirty) of the Linux kernel used on Mint 10. I got an error where the file size was wrong for some portion, I missed which because it was early and I had already fought other battles*.

Later the message is my system is up to date, is this because the discrepancy was caught? I am new to Mint so their procedures on updates are new to me. Moreover, when updating a kernel I had not remembered seeing a mix of versions, perhaps I was unattentive and missed a common procedure. [Just prior to posting, I see updates are again recommended - putting this up for reference.]

[Edit] Good thing I put up this message, the update was for a small file, which would not install. I am getting more failures to connect to package lists than successes. Moreover the last update of four files, at least two failed due to missed connections and time outs. What's going on? Am I the only Mint user seeing this?

[Edit] Also look at my new message that I will title: MInt [and Ubuntu 9.10] has my machine been cracked?