Waiting with bated breath...

Story: Test Driving GNU Hurd, With Benchmarks Against LinuxTotal Replies: 12
Author Content
dinotrac

Jul 18, 2011
11:31 AM EDT
Oh wait, I'm not!

That Dundering Hurd ain't ever going to stampede all in one direction. If it's not there by now, it ain't gonna get there.
TxtEdMacs

Jul 18, 2011
12:11 PM EDT
dties,

Cynic. Give it another twenty years and the thundering herd will wipe out your raunch, with the hired help scattering in all directions.

Get back to me when the dust settles.

YBT
jdixon

Jul 18, 2011
12:41 PM EDT
> ...and the thundering herd...

Eh? What's Marshall (http://www.marshall.edu/athletics/athletics.asp) got to do with this?
dinotrac

Jul 18, 2011
12:53 PM EDT
Hey!

Marshall is every bit as relevant to modern computing as the Hurd. Maybe more. I'm sure they graduate some good programmers.
jdixon

Jul 18, 2011
1:06 PM EDT
Probably true, Dino. I'm a WVU graduate myself, so I don't follow Marshall all that much.

I often tell folks that the only place in WV it's not safe for me to travel is Huntington. :)
skelband

Jul 18, 2011
2:06 PM EDT
You kidding me? They're still trying to get the Hurd thing off the ground. I thought that dies a death about 10 years ago.
pmpatrick

Jul 18, 2011
2:17 PM EDT
Hurd is not dead. It's just pining for the fjords. Brilliant plumage the Norwegian Hurd.
techiem2

Jul 18, 2011
3:21 PM EDT
From all the comments I saw flying around ("Hooray! Gnu Debian/Hurd! No more Linux!" etc) after the release announcement (which I hadn't read), I assumed a fully usable kernel was being released in the next few months...not a barely usable kernel late next year....
dinotrac

Jul 18, 2011
3:57 PM EDT
>late next year....

So, about the same timeframe as an electric car that can haul your family, go 300 miles on a charge, and recharge in ten minutes. And has been for about as long, too.
techiem2

Jul 18, 2011
4:09 PM EDT