People Click to Load Applications?

Story: Classic Gnome Panel vs UnityTotal Replies: 14
Author Content
Jeff91

Aug 22, 2011
8:09 AM EDT
They must be uneducated then! I've been using E for over two years now and it's "run everything" tool makes clicking to load things obsolete. Even when I still used Gnome2/KDE I used Do/Krunner to almost the same effect (they aren't quite as powerful).

We outline the Everything tool in our Bodhi docs pretty well - I have yet to find someone who understands how Everything works that doesn't start using it all the time (at least in the E desktop).

http://www.bodhilinux.com/wiki/doku.php?id=e17_-_the_bodhi_g...

~Jeff
dixiedancer

Aug 24, 2011
6:41 AM EDT
I don't know how typing the name of an app is any advantage over single-clicking a launcher, but that's just me.

I think Unity looks pretty cool though, and I think it's going to develop into something really awesome, given a little time and testing.
gus3

Aug 24, 2011
8:32 AM EDT
Hand movement. It's the same as using the keyboard to navigate an application's menus, instead of using the mouse.
tuxchick

Aug 24, 2011
9:42 AM EDT
I can't be the only one amused by autocomplete, a feature of the command shell for decades, finally coming to the GUI :). Though this Everything tool looks quite interesting and full of features.
techiem2

Aug 24, 2011
1:01 PM EDT
I've been using gmrun in fluxbox and xfce for ages. I just set a hotkey to run it then type and tab (yes, it has tab completion). I'll have to take a look at this Everything thingy too.
mrider

Aug 24, 2011
1:29 PM EDT
Mouse and menus are for times when one knows that something exists, but not precisely what it is or where it is. If one knows the exact name and or location of the program or file, then clicking is a waste of time.

But random searching and digging around (at least for me) seems much easier done the mousey gooey way.

(Edited out the Department of Redundancy Department text)
Grishnakh

Aug 24, 2011
3:30 PM EDT