This application hadn't occurred to me.

Story: Chromebooks pick up steam in the classroomTotal Replies: 32
Author Content
Ridcully

Jan 27, 2012
8:44 AM EDT
When I first saw these Chromebooks, I looked at them from my own personal usage which requires a fully functional laptop and I simply discarded the idea. This article however approaches the Chromebook from another direction which interests me deeply. I'm an ex-science/maths high school teacher and the thought of a computer that is virtually tamper-proof, virus free, simple and requires no setting up is remarkably appealing for use by students. With the higher speeds and ethernet port they almost become irresistible to a school trying to reduce costs. Mind you, here in Queensland I am not sure they would get off the ground purely because Qld Education sees nothing but Redmond software and demands total control of all school computers. I'm sure there are some drawbacks, but given the plethora of apps provided by Google, it's difficult to see that most basic school student requirements would not be satisfied.
Fettoosh

Jan 27, 2012
12:11 PM EDT
@Ridcully,

The Chromebook would have been an excellent device in various areas if it wasn't for the high cost. When it was first released, it was offered for $500, which is more than many descent full fledged laptops/netbooks/desktops.

It is a good tool for information & data consumption. Besides schools, it is a good kiosk or thin client in public places like libraries, airports, restaurants, hospitals, etc... and even in the enterprise where computers are mostly used to access information.

JaseP

Jan 27, 2012
6:48 PM EDT
When Chromebooks (as well as ChomeTops) are offered in the $250 to $300 USD range, and there are services specially for business & education, then they'll take off.
Khamul

Jan 27, 2012
7:07 PM EDT