Interesting list

Story: 5 Linux Distros You Should Watch Out For in 2013Total Replies: 41
Author Content
caitlyn

Jan 07, 2013
6:02 PM EDT
This is an interesting list. I agree with four out of five. Interest in Sabayon is pretty much holding steady and I don't really expect it to grow or change. The other four are growing in terms of interest from the community and seem to be doing interesting things. To me they really are ones to watch.
kikinovak

Jan 08, 2013
5:52 PM EDT
One distro you should watch out for in 2013:

Slackware Linux.

Because like in the french Nutella ad, "20 years of experience make all the difference".

On July 16th, Slackware will celebrate its 20th anniversary.

http://www.slackware.com/announce/1.0.php
caitlyn

Jan 08, 2013
5:57 PM EDT
Sorry, no. I have 17 years of experience with Slackware and it's still stuckin the 1990s. I've tried every version up to and including 14 and I think I have finally given up onit. Who has time to perpetually tinker with their systems? I don't. The lack of modern security (no SELinux or AppArmor) also makes Slackware a no-go for me.
kikinovak

Jan 08, 2013
7:51 PM EDT
Your mileage varies. I'm running a business based solely on Linux and FOSS, and I'm choosing Slackware specifically because I don't want to tinker with a broken distribution. Standard Slackware is a healthy base, and it's very easy to build upon it. Yes, I know Debian and RHEL and Ubuntu LTS well (even published a book about CentOS), but today my #1 choice remains Slackware.

Of course, it's like with so many things in life (music instruments, books, even love). You're getting out of it what you're willing to put into it.

http://www.microlinux.fr/slackware/14.0/README_MLED.TXT

If a robust, reliable, perennial no-bullsh#t distribution is "stuck in the 1990's", well, long live the 90s. Other distros may be the future, so I guess I'll use them... in the future :oD

Cheers from the sunny south of France,

http://www.microlinux.fr

slacker_mike