On Bodhi...

Story: LibreOffice 4.0 Installation Instructions for Ubuntu 12.10Total Replies: 7
Author Content
Jeff91

Mar 07, 2013
12:53 PM EDT
You just run the system updates and you will get upgraded to LibreOffice 4.0 :)

I really hope Ubuntu moves to some type of semi-rolling release with 14.04 (I heard some buzz of this awhile back). End users often need/want current software and reinstalling their operating system every 6 months is a non-option.

~Jeff
Fettoosh

Mar 07, 2013
1:39 PM EDT
Quoting:End users often need/want current software and reinstalling their operating system every 6 months is a non-option.

@Jeff,

I run Kubuntu and since 8.04 and on, I haven't had the need to re-install and always had the option to upgrade. Apps are a different story but usually have deb files of binaries available from developers.

Yes, it would be nice to have a complete semi-rolling release to include apps.

Jeff91

Mar 07, 2013
2:55 PM EDT
@Fettoosh

As a developer I can tell you simply responding with "works for me" to an issue doesn't work generally.

Check the Ubuntu forums after each of their releases - they are generally littered with issues caused from upgrades between their releases. I myself had them break a number of my installs before I moved onto other things of my own making.

Sure it works sometimes, but it is not consistent across all systems.

~Jeff
Fettoosh

Mar 07, 2013
3:35 PM EDT
Quoting:Sure it works sometimes, but it is not consistent across all systems.

That is true, but I always was able to fix the issues. From what I hear, rolling releases are not immune either.

Jeff91

Mar 07, 2013
4:10 PM EDT
Yep. That is why I'm a fan of "semi rolling" systems we've seen becoming more common. Which means keep your core libraries as stable/the same as possible while continuing to roll out updates to user applications.

~Jeff
tracyanne

Mar 07, 2013
5:12 PM EDT