Copyleft Terms May Become Unenforceable in 11 Countries under CPTPP

Posted by bob on Jun 13, 2018 4:52 PM EDT
Linux Journal; By Jack Burton
Mail this story
Print this story

The Comprehensive and Progressive Agreement for Trans Pacific Partnership (CPTPP) is an enormous (roughly 6,000-page) treaty between Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Malaysia, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore and Vietnam that was signed in Chile on March 8, 2018. So far, only Mexico and Japan have ratified it. CPTPP is almost identical to the original TPP, which included those 11 countries plus the United States. In early 2017, the US withdrew from the treaty, which its President had previously described as a "terrible deal".

Full Story

» Read more about: Story Type: Editorial; Groups: Community, Intellectual Property, Linux

« Return to the newswire homepage

Subject Topic Starter Replies Views Last Post
more details please! mbaehrlxer 0 2,746 Jun 13, 2018 9:14 PM

You cannot post until you login.