Advanced

How to disable confirmation window when closing gnome terminal

Posted by annamese on · 2 comments
Linux and Life
Mail this story
Print this story

In Ubuntu, Linux Mint or any other Linux distro that uses Gnome, if you close the terminal while some script or command is running within it, a window will appear to ask you to confirm the action. This article shows how to disable this feature.

Full Story

  Nav
» Read more about: Story Type: Tutorial

» Get new stories by e-mail: nightly or as they are published

« Return to the newswire homepage

  Related stories
» More like this

Comments (2)

The message is given for a reason. All this hullabaloo to disable it? Phooey!
@cmost

Choice is good.

I personally find these warnings rather irritating. But I also generally leave them alone. I even take the trouble to alias 'rm' to 'rm -i'

But sometimes, I do disable such warnings, if I'm "in the zone" and find the incessant interruptions sufficiently distracting. Quite often, for me the deciding factor is how easily I can toggle back and forth, depending on circumstances. I usually tend to be more concerned to be able to switch back quickly and easily, for when I'm tired, distracted, or only half paying attention.

Post a comment

A free account is needed to post. Write your comment here first: your text is kept in this browser while you sign up or log in, and is waiting for you when you come back.

Your message:
|||||
10
Markdown: **bold**, *italic*, [text](https://link), - lists, > quotes, $x^2$ for math. Formatting help

Sign up and post (it is free)  or  Log in and post