It's starting...

Story: How Microsoft's Enterprise Desktop Stifles Linux and How to Fix itTotal Replies: 5
Author Content
devnet

Nov 13, 2005
7:42 AM EDT
It is starting...the switch I mean.

I work as an Analyst for a newly inducted Fortune 500 company...Lotus Notes has emerged as the powerhouse for us. No more exchange. I've also made a proposal to roll out OpenOffice to our 17k plus computers that are in our stores nationwide. That proposal met with support (oddly enough) and my managers wanted to see what it was like. Each one of them are now owners of a liveCD of PCLinuxOS with OOo 2.0 slapped right on it. In fact, I was told by some of the other guys in my group that they would have tried to roll out OOo 1.X if it had the ability to default save in .doc format (for inter-department and interbusiness emailing). Since 2.0 does, they're actively considering it. Keep your fingers crossed.
dotmil

Nov 13, 2005
8:09 AM EDT
Interesting insight, however I would hardly call Office a "loss leader". http://www.microsoftmonitor.com/archives/002299.html
chanchal

Nov 13, 2005
8:13 AM EDT
I am wondering, what stops most shops where Exchange is used primarily as mail server, from configuring configuring it with POP3 / IMAP4 so that any client can access it, even non-MS ones? I believe that a large portion of non-Fortune500 camp establishments only use Exchange for mail, no calendaring and no workflow!!

There was another talk in the gallery suggesting that a Non-Techie IT Manager is likely to use MS Exchange and a professional would use Lotus Notes. Its actually the Desktop user of yesterday, who has never seen the power of a UNIX / Mainframe, is the decision making authority in most places. He does not take any risks, does not annoy people by asking them to use new software, does not have the ability of doing a researched decision. He also typically has his own version of definition for "User Friendly", which MS easily expoits.