Unbuntu install with a Ricochet wireless connection

Forum: LinuxTotal Replies: 6
Author Content
linux_newbie_de

Apr 01, 2006
5:22 PM EDT
Greetings oh great lords of Linux, I beseech thee to look down upon this newbie and have mercy. I appeal to thee to...okay enough of that stuff. I have completed installing Ubuntu on a P2 with 256 MB RAM running at 333Mhz and am feeling pretty good with the fact that I have gotten it installed and connected to the Internet (at work on a fast connection). My problem is....I would like to use a Ricochet GT USB Modem to connect from home to the Interenet. I have found a page here at this site that had a question but no reply was ever posted. The OS "sees" the Metricom modem but it will not connect. I have been working on it and have not been able to get the system "disl" a connction. From what I have been reading, Linux will treat the USB Modem as a serial modem when using it but I need to connect first. What am I missing? As the name says, I am a newbie here in Denver and want to start using Linux to see what I have been missing. Thanks for reading this and for any help.
Herschel_Cohen

Apr 01, 2006
6:33 PM EDT
linux_newbie_de - "de" is usually Deutschland, i.e. Germany. Denver is Mile High, in that dip just before the mountains start. The best place to post a question like this might be http://www.linuxquestions.org/ [Linux Questions dot org]. I would suggest running a search on the site first to see if perhaps that question has been answered. If nothing suitable is found, mention the search and post the question with a clear title on the content of the question.

You have to register to post, but they seem pretty friendly. Moreover, from my limited experience you will have a high probability of getting some useful information.

At this time we are trying to be a Linux centric news site, which is difficult. Hence, let us get good at what we do best and point you to other sites when they can other things better. Fair?