Seeking FC5 Web Dev Proj. Mngr. IDE w/ FTP

Forum: LinuxTotal Replies: 7
Author Content
jsabarese

Aug 18, 2006
5:34 PM EDT
hi there. i'm going to apologize in advance for the length of this post-- i hope you are able to stick around long enough to make it through to the end. i don't mean to waste your time!

i've been using Fedora Core 5 for a few months now, and i like it a lot. i'm probably an intermediate- to intermediate-advacend web dev guy. i've got some php sites w/ db's, javascript stuff, coldfusion stuff too... blah, blah-- but here's what i want to do.

i have a few clients for whom i occasionally update just a little bit here and there, but regardless of the volume of editing-- it's essential that i maintain a consistent "Project" folder locally. i like BLUEFISH but to use bluefish and coordinate it w/ KDE Konquerer as an FTP client... although perfectly effective, it seems a bit of a "clunky", easily confused "which file is newer, where.." way to do it. (back in windows, i used this IDE called "Webcoder" by tanggaard software at tsware.net -- i really like it a lot, and one of the features that i've grown fond of there is the "Project" management-- so i can just keep my projects organized w/ the IDE's dedicated project files, and it will FTP right out of that app.

i haven't found anything here in Fedora which does that-- not QUITE like that at least (ie. if i could FTP directly from BlueFish, then yes-- we'd have basically a matching setup.) so that's why i'm posting-- i want to know about YOUR technique. how do YOU manage larger projects, several subdirectories, images, etc-- and the occasional updating thereof?

i know i'm probably just whining about nonsense here-- as far as some of you are concerned, and that's okay-- cause i understand where you're coming from-- but i'm just bad w/ the organization thing ADD / narcolepsy-- it all goes against my clarity of "where did i leave off?"