yeah my boss is an idiot

Forum: LinuxTotal Replies: 9
Author Content
oldskool

Sep 28, 2006
5:12 PM EDT
My boss has just dumped a wyse winterm thin client on my desk. It is a 5150se (http://www.wyse.com/products/winterm/5150SE/index.asp) running wyse linux v6.

He has managed to lock himself out of any admin rights and has asked me to fix it :/

The thin client now auto logs into the account which has no admin rights, I cannot even get into control panel.

had a look online for a solution, im lost!

What can I do to solve, is there any way I can reset it to its factory settings? Is there a linux default admin account I can login to( which I hope he has not changed the pword to), if so how do I bring up a login screen,

please keep in mind I have no knowledge of linux.

thanks for all your help, sorry for the long winded email!!!
Scott_Ruecker

Sep 28, 2006
6:01 PM EDT
Is there any information that needs to be retrieved from the computer?

If not then get the install disks from your boss and do a complete re-install.

This Is Important! - Make sure that you create a user profile that is separate from the root profile, the root profile is created when installing and most Distributions ask you to create a user profile anyway.

That should solve the log-in problem. I hope. ;-)

Regards
oldskool

Sep 28, 2006
6:08 PM EDT
this unit is aparently about 1 year old, the unit came with the os already on it.

no idea where the box, cd's etc are....

was hoping I could get around this without a full re install
jdixon

Sep 28, 2006
6:18 PM EDT
Well, it's impossible to tell much without downloading a bunch spec sheets from Wyse, which I'm not up to doing tonight.

Does the unit have an onboard floppy or CD from which it can boot? If so, any of he numerous bootable Linux floppies/CD's should let you get into the system and modify things. Tomsrtbt is a good bootable floppy, and Knoppix is a good bootable CD.