Hear! Hear!

Story: Linux and Newbies: Some Cold, Hard RealityTotal Replies: 24
Author Content
dcparris

Dec 10, 2006
10:52 AM EDT
The fact is that I am no expert administrator with 20 years of UNIX experience. I did the same thing - bought (and still have, I think) a copy of Using Linux. It came with 1 Caldera (version??) and 2 Red Hat 5.1 CDs. It cost about $30, and I simply sat and read the instructions. Mandrake 8.0 had a manual, and I could still use the Red Hat book for much of what I needed to do. I bought the Red Hat 7.2 book, but never did much with it. I got into SUSE at 8.0, and really liked their manuals. That's how I learned to configure NFS. Between the SUSE manual and the Red Hat 7.2 book, I learned SSH and a few other things. I even got e-mail working, but only using IP addresses. Never got to send e-mail to clients on my LAN using DNS.

I'm now working on OpenVPN, using a book. Sometimes it's difficult, and I find myself turning to the websites for some additional help, but otherwise, I'm slooowly making progress. I just read and follow the instructions. It really isn't all that hard.
jimf

Dec 10, 2006
11:27 AM EDT
Also, (paper) books are certainly not the only way to learn Linux. Many excellent tutorials, and virtual books are available on line. Sometimes this is harder than doing the equivalent in Windows, but you end up knowing the process thoroughly, and, you're able to control it much better.

One of the key attributes of Linux is the ability to control nearly every aspect of the system, but this implies a commitment to learn the system. No matter how 'user friendly' Linux becomes, this will, and should, always be true. Contrast that with MS Windows products, where both users and Admins are given just enough information to make it work (well, sort of). I always tell new users that they need to make the commitment to learn the system, otherwise, stay with what you got. Ignorance by design, or real control, Your choice...
Koriel

Dec 10, 2006