Need help with latest install of Ichthux

Forum: LinuxTotal Replies: 18
Author Content
jcmoffitt

Feb 13, 2007
5:28 AM EDT
Good morning

I am relatively new to Linux having gotten back into the swing of things with the latest release of Ichthux. A friend of mine told me about it so I started playing around with Knoppix as well as Ichthux. Years ago I played around with Red Hat distributions but that was YEARS ago and I have forgotten more than I learned way back when. I finally got Ichthux 6.10 installed on my Toshiba laptop in a dual boot configuration with XP Pro SP2. Now that it is installed I can not logon. I use the same user id and password that I used during the setup phase. I can log on under single user mode and use that same user id and password and it works. Any ideas how to fix this? Thanks
jdixon

Feb 13, 2007
5:52 AM EDT
Well, Google indicates that Ichtux is based on Kubuntu, which is based on Ubuntu. The id and password you used during the setup are probably for root, and root logins are disabled in Ubuntu. Did you create a user account during the setup? If so, use it. If not, then you need to do so.
Scott_Ruecker

Feb 13, 2007
5:53 AM EDT
A great place to start is http://www.linuxquestions.org

It is the largest Linux forum website on the planet and you can do searches on the forums contents so you can find out of someone has already had the same issue as you without waiting for someone to answer your post. If you do not find the answer that way then post a question to the forum that is the most relevant to the issue.

Hope it helped.

Scott
jcmoffitt

Feb 13, 2007
7:35 AM EDT