Thoughts on a new distro: SLUDGE

Forum: LinuxTotal Replies: 4
Author Content
herzeleid

Nov 14, 2007
11:32 AM EDT
I know there are already more distros than anyone could ever keep track of, but I've been thinking about a niche that needs to be filled. A few years ago linux vendors began a trend of forking into 2 classes - the "enterprise" versions and the "consumer" or "enthusiast" versions. RHEL vs fedora, SLES/SLED vs opensuse, etc.

When redhat discontinued their shrink wrapped Linux, forcing users to choose between RHEL or fedora, some of us went with fedora, and some of us went to other distros. A series of RHEL knockoffs hit the scene, and today it looks like Centos is the anointed RHEL clone. It's great for poor students, self taught sys admins and startup consultants who can use Centos for free to learn exactly how RHEL operates, thus preparing themselves for lucrative linux consulting work; some organizations find that centos is just fine, that they don't need the official support from redhat. therefore, for a lot of scenarios, centos makes sense, while fedora doesn't.

IMHO this free beer version of RHEL helps redhat, because even if they don't get money from the sale, it propagates the RHEL personality and way of doing things, and so when it comes time to pick a supported enterprise distro it's a no brainer to move from centos to RHEL.

I've been a full time suse user since 2004, and I like SLES, it's been rock solid in our data center, and IMHO there is a real need for a free beer version of SLES, for the small businesses and those just starting out. Some will say that opensuse is the free beer version of SLES, but that's simply not the case. Opensuse has a newer kernel, newer libs, different tools. Sure, there's a strong family resemblance but it's not identical, and what works on one might not work the same way, or at all, on the other.