OK, Matt. I have no idea what you're talking about.

Story: Linux Battles DVD Piracy IssuesTotal Replies: 4
Author Content
dinotrac

Dec 03, 2007
6:22 AM EDT
I thought the NYT piece was fine.

Like most newspaper pieces, it was written to fill a certain amount of space, so you can not reasonably expect a dissertation on the finer points.

It had nice things to say.

It mentioned the warnings from automatix. It didn't say that you were violating any laws. it said that automatix generates ominous warnings. It also said that you could ignore the warnings and everything would install just fine.

As to installing linux, I would also agree that downloading the files and installing from scratch is the hardest way to do it. I've had more than a few times when I had to study a download page carefully to make sure I was getting the version I wanted, and I've been building my own Linux boxes for nearly ten years now.

One more thing --

When it comes to lazy reporting and not knowing what you're talking about, you really should follow your own advice.

Quoting: With restricted codecs, the only time it is going to find themselves in actionable legal trouble is if they are distributing said codecs without paying the patent fees to the appropriate parties.

Patents are not the only, likely not even the biggest concern. Software is protected by copyright. It may or may not be covered by patents.

A picky point - but you had already set a picky standard, so it's ok

As a practical matter, you are correct, however. Playing DVD's with "illegal" libraries doesn't leave any kind of footprint. Technically speaking, you would be in violation of the copyright act because DVD's are authorized to be played via approved software, but...