Thanks!

Story: Do More With Less: Port-Based VLANsTotal Replies: 5
Author Content
techiem2

Feb 03, 2008
5:46 AM EDT
Great series TC!

Now I just need to get some smart switches and get my lan rewired properly.....

:)
Bob_Robertson

Feb 03, 2008
8:31 AM EDT
I dunno. I've been doing network engineering since 1990, and I have seen very few reasons to use vlans.

What I have seen is vlans _abused_, horribly. Speghetti programming has _nothing_ on the messes I've had to clean up made by people who hear about vlans and decide to put them everywhere.

I'm a "smart host - dumb network" guy, from hard experience.

However, a "smart switch" as opposed to a dumb hub, can make all the difference in the world. Anyone who still has ethernet hubs should pull them out today and replace them with good switches.

Yes, vlans have a place, I'm sure. I'm just not sure where.

(btw, if your office programmers decide to use broadcast packets for their inter-server communications, just shoot them then put the servers on their own dedicated hardware. Much easier than trying to isolate them with vlans.)
techiem2

Feb 03, 2008
8:38 AM EDT
I know we vlans a good deal at the college to separate the classrooms from the office and the wireless and such. That makes sense. I'd kinda like to separate out my servers into a vlan at home for ease of management and such, but my network wiring is kinda a mess and would need to be redone.... Other than that, I'd REALLY like to replace my switches with gigabit switches.... *sigh*
DarrenR114

Feb 04, 2008
8:13 AM EDT
@Bob_Robertson -

A VPN is a different animal from a VLAN.

A VPN allows a tunneling client to use an existing outside connection to connect to another network altogether. Through the tunneling client, the workstation operates as if it were just another (internal) node on the target network.