Iceweasel for Ubuntu?

Story: Battle Brews Over Firefox In Ubuntu 8.10Total Replies: 13
Author Content
Steven_Rosenber

Sep 15, 2008
2:44 PM EDT
Judging from this article, it could happen. Not that there's anything wrong with it.
tracyanne

Sep 15, 2008
4:57 PM EDT
I don't have a problem agreeing that Mozilla (or any other Linux/Freesoftware developer/distributor) own the logos and other branding items, and I can't see why anyone else other than a freeloader would.

bigg

Sep 15, 2008
5:11 PM EDT
I don't understand why an EULA is necessary to protect trademark, or how it would help in that regard. OTOH, I don't have a problem with an EULA if the license itself doesn't change. I'm no expert in whatever Mozilla's attorneys are worried about.

Iceweasel was very slow when I was running Debian. I always ended up installing the real thing. The same was true when running Arch. Firefox was called Bon Echo and was very slow. A package for the official Firefox even showed up in the AUR as many users found Bon Echo to be slow.

I know, the claim is that only the controversial parts are ripped out, but my experience and the experience of many others is that the official version is a lot faster. I do not think a slow browser is what should be presented to the new users that Ubuntu is so successful in recruiting.
Steven_Rosenber

Sep 15, 2008
6:05 PM EDT
I've found Iceweasel in Debian to be entirely like Firefox in every way, except that it wouldn't run Google Docs offline via Gears.

But since I'm totally soured on Gears, which works like so much sludge in Ubuntu, it's a non-issue at the moment.
caitlyn

Sep 16, 2008
2:49 AM EDT
My experience with Iceweasel on Zenwalk was that it was slower than Firefox downloaded and installed from the Mozilla website. It also crashed more frequently. I've read numerous comments about how Iceweasel shold be identical for Firefox but in real life it just doesn't seem to work that way.
Laika

Sep 16, 2008
7:25 AM EDT