Publisher's Pushback

Story: The Publisher's Pushback against NIH's Public Access and Scholarly Publishing SustainabilityTotal Replies: 8
Author Content
ColonelPanik

Jan 28, 2009
2:29 PM EDT
Except for a few, a very few, well endowed universities, the two headed school killer has been our BFF m$ and their partner in crime the publishers of academic books and journals.

Lack of innovation for profit is the m$ mantra. "Does Not Play Well With Others" is the theme song of the publishers.

This lock down on knowledge seems like the road to hell.

Sander, this is all about FOSS, same folks fighting FOSS are fighting for the rights of the publishers to make obscene profits. Anyone else getting tired of the nay-sayers?
penguinist

Jan 28, 2009
3:28 PM EDT
Yes, in so many ways the fight for "information freedom" is parallel to the fight for "software freedom".

Several years ago I began to experience cardiac health issues. As an engineer, my first step was to learn everything there was to know about my condition. That took me to the local medical school library, and to the online journals. That is when I found out just how restricted and protected our medical knowledge is.

The library permitted me to browse the stacks, read as much as I wanted in the building, but in order to check out a book it was required to have an MD certificate or registration as a medical student. (By the way, all other libraries at this university permit public access.) Mind you, this was a tax supported library.

Online is worse. Yes, you can search the journals, and can even read a few hundred words of abstract, but most of the medical knowledge published is buried under costly journal subscriptions, many of which are only open again to those with an MD certificate.

Does anyone else feel the same outrage?