Interesting article, I'll be following the rest of it.

Story: Putting Open Source to the Mom TestTotal Replies: 7
Author Content
tracyanne

Mar 06, 2009
4:50 PM EDT
However the following does not suggest to me that she is smart, or, as she puts it, "not an idiot".

Quoting:I am a decorated Army Veteran, I teach Religious Education Classes, and I take courses in Theology through the University of Dayton....

I suspect she is, but the first suggests to me that she's brave, very brave, the rest suggests to me quite the opposite of smart.
herzeleid

Mar 06, 2009
4:59 PM EDT
On account of her faith? She's in good company - Pascal, Newton, Gauss - and modern day physicists like Gerald Schroeder. Clearly, the presence of faith is no impediment to scientific or technical achievement.

Nonetheless, I understand that some here view the whole idea of God as a fairy tale - and that's fine, I have no quarrel with them, their life is their own. We just live in different worlds.

I'm reminded of the book "flatlands" - it's a quick read. The 2 dimensional inhabitants of that world might well hold all sorts of differing views about the existence of a mysterious 3rd dimension!
tracyanne

Mar 06, 2009
5:20 PM EDT
I've already broken TOS, so I'll stop here.

Here's a Link to the first of her blogs http://amber.redvoodoo.org/2009/02/ubuntu-and-mepart-1.html

Quoting:My goals for tonight were to Install Ubuntu Linux (Done), Connect to the Internet (Done), Connect to my Dell 3110 CN Color Laser Printer wirelessly (Done). After that I wanted to be able to get to my Website (Done), get to FaceBook, I am an addict (Done), access my classes at Dayton (Done), and write my Blog (Done).

It took less than 2 hours to get all the stuff listed above done.I really thought it would take a few days. I am pleasantly surprised to say the least. I am very happy that I was able to do this myself and NOT have Pete help me at all. I was able to stick to my initial position of NOT having him help me. :)