On the other hand...

Story: How the Swedish Pirate Party Platform Backfires on Free SoftwareTotal Replies: 7
Author Content
cabreh

Jul 24, 2009
3:45 AM EDT
Who cares about code that is five years old? At the rate software is changing you'd be lucky if there is anything in code that old still being used. This law would NOT place the current code under public license. Only the code that is five years old.

Maybe this is an issue for some, but probably not many.

Sander_Marechal

Jul 24, 2009
3:50 AM EDT
The *vast* majority of code that makes your system work is over five year sold, in fact (assuming you're using Linux).
mortenalver

Jul 24, 2009
4:35 AM EDT
That is an interesting question... how do you measure the age of a code base that is constantly evolving? Using the SVN history to determine the age of each single line?
tbuitenh

Jul 24, 2009
7:00 AM EDT
I am not a lawyer, but I guess the whole work is considered as new as the newest line in it. So if you configure your repository such that it will not allow checkouts of code older than, say, one year, and the gpl is adapted to allow refusal to provide ancient code, most of the problem goes away. It would force the proprietary software companies to regularly check out and archive copies of anything that might become useful to them in four years...

Of course, all the features that one would really like to copy into proprietary software tend to be much less than five years old. Re-fixing the security bugs found over five years also doesn't sound attractive. So it all doesn't seem to be a very big deal to me.
cabreh

Jul 24, 2009
7:57 AM EDT
@Sander: I'm not a kernel programmer and haven't gone looking at the source very much but I would be surprised if there are many routines that have not been touched in some way over five years. Bug fixes, rewrites to improve efficiency, replacement of sections with newer functions. All it takes is one little change and it's not old any more.