Dependant claims

Story: Andrew Tridgell: How to Read and Avoid a PatentTotal Replies: 6
Author Content
Sander_Marechal

Mar 23, 2010
4:25 AM EDT
I have a question about the way that dependant parent claims are explained in this article. Andrew says that you only have to look at the independant claims. If you don't violate them, then you're not violating the dependant claims either. Using the red car example from the article:

Quoting:Claim 1) A transport system consisting of:

* a red car, * with shiny plastic panels

If your car is green, you don't violate the patent says Andrew, no matter what the dependant claims are. But what if there's a claim like this?

Quoting:Claim 2) The system of claim 1 but with the color of the car is green

Can such claims exist? I.e. can dependant claims only add stuff to the original claim, or can they also variate on the original claim?

ciaran

Mar 23, 2010
8:02 AM EDT
I'm not an expert, but my guess is that if the colour of the car wasn't fundamental, it shouldn't be in the independent claim. So if someone wanted to claim red cars and green cars, they would either have to move "red" from claim 1 into a dependent claim, like:

Quoting:Claim 1) A transport system consisting of: * a car, * with shiny plastic panels Claim 2) The system of claim 1 but with the color of the car is red Claim 3) The system of claim 1 but with the color of the car is green

or, maybe Claim 1 would have be be "a car with a specific colour".

Maybe there's a patent drafting rule that dependent claims can only add to the independent claim, never modify it.
dinotrac

Mar 23, 2010
9:46 AM EDT
ciaran -

Dependent claims are in addition to the independent claims, and rely on them. They do not change anything in the independent claims.
jacog

Mar 23, 2010
10:40 AM EDT
The whole patent argument sounds lot like the old "Ship of Theseus" philosophical debate.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ship_of_Theseus

hkwint

Mar 23, 2010
1:37 PM EDT