Patent Pool License?

Forum: LinuxTotal Replies: 11
Author Content
chalbersma

Jul 30, 2010
11:03 PM EDT
So I was in the Ballmer Peak and I started to think about ways to solve the software patent issue. What I'm thinking might work is a license that creates a patent pool between users. First I believe it would need to define the difference between regular/hardware patents and software patents. Then it says that a person or group/corporation that uses the software puts their IP in a royalty free patent pool. Among people that use the software or have used the software you cannot sue for patent infringement. I'm no lawyer but this may be able to solve the issue of patents especially if such a clause were integrated into the next version of the GPL. What do you guys think?
hkwint

Jul 31, 2010
6:12 PM EDT
DPL?

http://www.networkworld.com/community/node/60939 http://fosspatents.blogspot.com/2010/05/will-defensive-paten... http://fosspatents.blogspot.com/2010/05/dpl-and-fair-troll-b... http://eupat.ffii.org/stidi/gacri/index.en.html

Haven't read most of that, but I think it pretty much covers what you're suggesting.
chalbersma

Aug 01, 2010
5:33 AM EDT
Nah it's too defensive. It basically want to create a repo of patents plus a patent pool with no incentive to place your patent in the pool. This would be tied to a piece of software, and use of the software automagically places you in the patent pool.
hkwint

Aug 01, 2010
9:28 AM EDT
So if IBM is using Linux, all of IBM's patents and up in the pool, and they cannot sue any Linux user with their patents?

I'm afraid that's a bit too far fetched.
chalbersma

Aug 01, 2010
8:05 PM EDT
Just their software patents but yes. And it does seem far fetched but so did a lot of things at one time or another.
jdixon

Aug 01, 2010
8:13 PM EDT
> So if IBM is using Linux, all of IBM's patents and up in the pool, and they cannot sue any Linux user with their patents?