now playing: Tiny Core Linux

Forum: LinuxTotal Replies: 20
Author Content
gus3

Feb 16, 2011
7:51 PM EDT
That's right, I'm posting this from a fresh install of Tiny Core Linux. It isn't perfect, and there are plenty of things I'd like to tweak, but two things stand out:

1. It's incredibly tiny: 444M after having installed Firefox 4.0b7, Wireshark, and OpenSSH, along with their dependencies;

2. It's screamingly, blindingly, hedonistically FAST. When I launch a shell window, my finger isn't off the mouse button before the window is up and ready for input. I have never ever seen any computer, running any OS, responding this fast, and this is on my woefully under-powered EeePC.

My first impression: 8.5/10.
flufferbeer

Feb 16, 2011
11:12 PM EDT
@gus3

That's great that TC is so impressive for you. As a TC newbie, I found that it was horribly difficult to figure out all the READMEs and FAQs to see how to best use this on a laptop. Super fast, but NOT so user-friendly even with the forum/wiki docs! And just FORGET about installing this!

Maybe TC has changed, but I went to Puppy Linux Linux for a decently-fast and "small" liveCD. I wonder if Puppy's Barry Kauler will be integrating some of TC's improvements that you tout so highly here? Barry is now heavily promoting his lean-and-mean QuirkyPuppy, so maybe THIS has integrated similar improvements as did TC. STANDARD Puppy runs rings around TC as far as being user-friendly!

-2c
steever

Feb 17, 2011
6:16 AM EDT
@gus3:

I've tried installing it on my old EEE 701, but couldn't get past wireless issues - ie no Internet connectivity. Can you give some pointers on how you went with it?
bigg

Feb 17, 2011
7:30 AM EDT
TC runs well on 12-year old hardware.
tracyanne

Feb 17, 2011
8:29 AM EDT
Quoting:TC runs well on 12-year old hardware.

Yes she's quite versitile.
gus3

Feb 17, 2011
4:28 PM EDT