What are you really losing?

Story: Canonical takes another step against the CommunityTotal Replies: 2
Author Content
dthacker

Apr 24, 2011
10:21 AM EDT
Disclaimer: I never followed this mailing list, I tend to stick to the technical lists. It seems that a few folks are upset about not having a place to rant about Canonical, Aren't there several thousand other places those rants can be posted? As an Ubuntu user and minor contributor, I'd have to say this is a non-event.

Dave

TxtEdMacs

Apr 24, 2011
12:13 PM EDT
Up until last Friday I have been using Ubuntu exclusively, since about 2006. My first use was with 5.10 that was not totally satisfactory, but certainly better than the version of Mandrake I dropped from the laptop I was using at that time. I tended to stick with the LTS versions, but I did not use 10.04 due to the trends I saw. More recently I have been quite satisfied with 9.10, however, with its end of life and the certainty I was going to neither 10.10 nor 11.04 I installed Mint 10.

I appreciated the work of the Ubuntu developer team and I wish Ubuntu [and Canonical] have great success in drawing new users. That grows Linux. I and others like me should have the experience to move to other distributions without rancor. I viewed my use as a generous gift. I only hope I can give back, in some manner, in the future.

Txt.
tuxchick

Apr 24, 2011
12:46 PM EDT
Don't let facts get in the way of a good kvetch...

The Ubuntu Community council voted to close the Sounder list, not Canonical. The public Sounder list archives are here: https://lists.ubuntu.com/archives/sounder/. The purpose of the list is supposedly "discussion of subjects of general interest related to the Ubuntu project, Linux, Open Source or software in general." It's like a lot of public lists, a little on topic, a lot of complaining about anything and everything. It's hardly an attack on The Community to close this list. (sacred music playing softly every time The Community is mentioned)