Not joining the either/or position

Story: Linux Has Not Won, Microsoft is as Dangerous as Ever, Fie on Secure BootTotal Replies: 21
Author Content
Steerpike

Dec 05, 2012
3:20 PM EDT
I've used Linux as my primary OS for years. I'm not a tech expert, either by training or education, I just took the time out to learn how to do it, getting to the point where I could handle my own Arch installation (which may not seem like much to you linux experts, but which was quite a personal coup for me), work in the terminal with some confidence, and so on. In other words, I like linux a lot and I've taken the time to be able to use it as my primary, go-to operating system.

I still buy computers with Windows pre-installed, for a few reasons (in order of importance):

1. Work. There are still things relating to work where I've go to have a Windows installation to work with if I need it. Even something as simple as logging into my work email remotely (many of the features only work in IE). Software compatibility with the rest of the office and with clients is also an issue.

2. Games. I work quite a bit, and leisure time is limited. I play games for fun and also as a way to keep in touch socially with friends and family who don't live in the area. The games we tend to play together (right now it's GW2) don't run in Linux. I've been able to get some to launch in WINE, but they just don't run well on my computer. Virtualization still requires a copy of Windows, right? Maybe the gaming situation will change - it looks like it is starting to. We'll see where that goes.

3. Price. A minor consideration, but given points 1 and 2 it seems like an especially bad idea for me to pay more for a device that has Linux pre-installed. Especially when the pre-installed distro isn't the one I want to use in the first place.