Advanced

Delete Files Securely In Nautilus

Posted by hotice on · Post a comment
Web Upd8
Mail this story
Print this story

When you delete a file, you are not really deleting it from your had drive. All the system does if free up the space occupied by that file to make room for other files and until that space is filled with new data, the files you tried to delete are actually still stored on your hard disk and can be recovered. In this article, I am going to tell you how to delete files for ever (almost) in Nautilus using a command-line tool and also, how to add this functionality to Nautilus, when right clicking a file / folder.

Full Story

  Nav
» Read more about: Story Type: News Story

» Get new stories by e-mail: nightly or as they are published

« Return to the newswire homepage

  Related stories
» More like this

Comments

No comments yet. Be the first.

Post a comment

A free account is needed to post. Write your comment here first: your text is kept in this browser while you sign up or log in, and is waiting for you when you come back.

Your message:
|||||
10
Markdown: **bold**, *italic*, [text](https://link), - lists, > quotes, $x^2$ for math. Formatting help

Sign up and post (it is free)  or  Log in and post