Read the article... my views on the author's VMware commets.

Story: Review: Virtualization and Linux--A Primer (Part 2)Total Replies: 2
Author Content
erikb5

Dec 15, 2006
6:58 AM EDT
First my disclaimer. I'm an Consultant that works extensively with VMware products, but I'm also an RHCE certified advanced-user that looks forward to using Xen on RHEL5 (currently beta-testing). My ISP hosting my own website is using the Virtuozzo product. So I do have a grasp of the different technologies.

Carla Schroder comments on VMware : "VMWare uses a different approach to virtualization than Xen. VMWare is an emulator; it creates a virtualized hardware environment for the guest operating systems. Emulation is resource-intensive, but VMWare claims equal or superior performance to Xen."

VMware is not an emulator, it's more an encapsulator. It creates a virtual machine based on a 440BX type motherboard with a set of specific devices. But all the programs and the operating system running in this virtual machine run directly in the host processor. The great benefit of this encapsulation of the vm, is the ability to move a virtual machine from a HP server to a Dell laptop to an IBM workstation without impact.

Programs that are true emulators are named PearPC or Charon (running VAX/VMS code on a PC).

I trully enjoy VMware ESX, because each box I install at a client, is one more GNU/Linux system installed. The Service Console (ie mgmt console) is running a copy/flavor of Red Hat Enterprise Linux 3 on ESX 3 or Red Hat 7.3 on ESX 2.5. I've found that system administrators that have to manage these ESX boxes, find it more and more interesting to study, learn and install GNU/Linux systems rather than their older Microsoft admin consoles.