SOP

Story: Microsoft's plans for XPTotal Replies: 10
Author Content
cjcox

Sep 14, 2007
10:18 AM EDT
Since I've been working for major software companies since 1985... I can assure that all of this is SOP.

And the world all switched to Linux back when we were forced to go to XP? No. And it won't happen this time either.

HOWEVER... some WILL move... and that's significant. Just like they did when Win98 died. But are we talking about taking away more than 10% of Microsoft's desktop market share this time? No. But, maybe as high as 20-30% will look at alternatives and out of that, perhaps as many as 2-5% will opt for Linux.

Overall.. Microsoft is still sitting pretty. It's still the ONLY OS required on all new hardware purchases (Ok... there are some exceptions, but nothing that would show up statistically).

My current company develops enterprise level software on mainframes and "open" OS's (includes *ix, Linux and Microsoft... the quotes are intentional). We develop and support software on i-Series, Tandem and VMS as well. But you know, our infrastructure, instead of moving forward to a platform independent design is actually becoming more and more entrenched with Microsoft-ONLY solutions. Which is sad.
Steven_Rosenber

Sep 14, 2007
11:48 AM EDT
I've said this many, many times: open-source operating systems will follow open-source software that runs on closed-source operating systems.

Microsoft stole the browser market away from Netscape in an underhanded way, and when the Netscape "threat" was gone, sat back while Mozilla stole it from them. IE is now a Windows-only product, and Firefox continues to nip away at the IE base.

I don't know quite how MS Word was able to eliminate WordPerfect as a competitor and completely take over the word-processing space. I think it had something to do with Word being available for Mac and for Windows when WP was still heavily entrenched in the MS-DOS world. Same with Excel vs. Lotus 1-2-3, I imagine.