Tried it.

Story: OpenSuSE 10.3 is outTotal Replies: 13
Author Content
salparadise

Oct 07, 2007
9:10 PM EDT
Hated it.

They ought to be done for defamation of the name Linux.
herzeleid

Oct 07, 2007
9:44 PM EDT
I installed it too, and like it a lot - I haven't found any distro as nice - but feel free to turn me on to a better all-around distro, because if there is one, I'm there. But hey, different strokes for different folks - Just out of curiosity, was there something in particular about it that displeased you? What install did you do, the one-disk gnome, the one-disk kde, the net install, ore the full dvd?

BTW I've been running linux at work and at home since 1993. The list of distros I've used includes sls, slackware, debian, redhat, fedora, caldera, turbolinux. mandrake, ubuntu, suse and others, as well as various other unices e.g. sunos, solaris, irix, next, osx, freebsd, netbsd, hpux, aix.

Do tell, inquiring minds want to know!
dinotrac

Oct 08, 2007
3:23 AM EDT
herzelaid -

Is it better than 10.2? Most important -- Have they done anything to return Yast to its nimbler glory days?
herzeleid

Oct 08, 2007
8:43 AM EDT
Quoting: Is it better than 10.2? Most important -- Have they done anything to return Yast to its nimbler glory days?
I upgraded some boxes at home this weekend, and 10.3 is snappier than 10.2. I was bitten though, by a couple of changes that won't affect most users -

I have a high availability cluster at home with both boxes originally running 10.2, and my plan was to upgrade one box at a time to 10.3, while keeping the highly available service up and running. Unfortunately drbd was changed from version 0.7 to 0.8, and the method for creating permanent network interface names was changed in 10.3. So, the server could not stay up. Both boxes had to come up to 10.3, update drbd and update the ethernet names.