Linux 101 Frustrates Yet Another Pundit

Story: Linux's dirty little secretTotal Replies: 47
Author Content
tuxchick

Jul 01, 2008
12:46 PM EDT
How do these people manage in their daily lives? Honest to gosh, do they dress and feed themselves successfully?
tracyanne

Jul 01, 2008
1:34 PM EDT
He's merely doing what I did when I first started using Linux. And he's also saying pretty much the same things, except publicly.
Steven_Rosenber

Jul 01, 2008
2:51 PM EDT
Going from the world of Windows to a big-time Linux distribution and installing from source without first fully exploring all the other package-management tools at your disposal is putting the cart way before the horse.

I don't think it's a "dirty little secret" that to avoid unpacking tarballs, compiling source code, doing the same with dependencies, etc., there are precompiled binary packages that can be easily installed either in a console or from a friendly neighborhood GUI application.

I'm no expert on virtualization, so I took a look at http://www.vmware.com/products/ws/ and found out that VMware Workstation isn't FOSS. It's also not free. It costs $189.

I don't fault anybody for putting out $189 to use a program, even if there are free alternatives that are easier to install, but you'd think that for the money, the VMware people could smooth the install process for Linux users. I don't think they're after the Linux market anyway, since it's hard to compete with free and open source.

I enjoy reading Adrian Kingsley-Hughes, and I'm glad he's dipping his foot into the waters of Linux. And I figure that he either knows (or at least knows now) that proprietary software (or whatever VMware is, exactly) won't be in any "normal" Ubuntu, Debian or other similar repositories.