I reject the first assumption

Story: Open Source Race to Zero May Destroy Software IndustryTotal Replies: 93
Author Content
gus3

Apr 03, 2009
6:06 PM EDT
... that is, the validity of software patents, or the more general term "intellectual property."

And this guy has a vested interest in the preservation of both. He admits it in the second paragraph:

Quoting:The fact that I am a patent attorney undoubtedly makes many in the open source movement immediately think I simply don’t understand technology, and my writings that state computer software is not math have only caused mathematicians and computer scientists to believe I am a quack. Unlike most patent attorneys, I do get it and that is probably why my writings can be so offensive to the true believers. I am not only a patent attorney, but I am an electrical engineer who specializes in computer technologies, including software and business method technologies. I write software code and whether you agree with me or not, telling me I simply don’t understand is not intellectually compelling. I do get it, and the reality is that open source software is taking us in a direction that should scare everyone.
"I do get it"--no, he doesn't understand that a transistor is little more than a light switch with no moving parts, and how one uses that switch cannot be patented.

"true believers"--name-calling, are we?

"business method technologies"--I think the fish just got its bicycle.

Arrogance, bigotry, and obfuscation all rolled into one! The fine people at Groklaw.net might find him to be a tasty meal.
gus3

Apr 03, 2009
6:15 PM EDT
It looks like they've beat me to the punch:

[url=http://www.groklaw.net/comment.php?mode=display&sid=20090402200704369&title=Quinn's race to zero&type=article&order=&hideanonymous=0&pid=749727#c749847]http://www.groklaw.net/comment.php?mode=display&sid=20090402...[/url]

This comment thread is interesting, indeed, from Groklaw.net's POV.
softwarejanitor

Apr 03, 2009
6:22 PM EDT