I remember a different SCO

Story: When SCO is dead and buriedTotal Replies: 2
Author Content
caitlyn

Jun 01, 2009
12:41 PM EDT
The "Cyber Cynic" does a nice job of reminding us what SCO and Caldera used to be and how management made it all go horribly wrong. He doesn't mention that Caldera won a huge settlement from Microsoft over DR-DOS, a nearly dead product from a company they had bought out, and decided that litigation roulette was more profitable than making the quality products they had been know for. The problem with roulette is that your chances of winning are very small indeed. Litigation roulette has turned into Russian roulette for SCO and we all know how that game ends for the losing party.

Yes, SCO had good products once. Caldera had a fantastic distro in OpenLinux. Now it's all dead and gone. The greed of management outweighed all.
Steven_Rosenber

Jun 01, 2009
3:17 PM EDT
I was a student at UC Santa Cruz in the mid- to late 1980s, and I got my first Unix account on a time-share system. I remember wondering how I could get that kind of environment on a PC. At that time, PCs were extremely expensive, and Macs were just coming in to the campus.

A very different kind of student used the Unix systems, a number of which could be accessed from terminals all around the campus in rooms that also included line printers. You could also print on a laser printer -- and this was before the Apple LaserWriter appeared, at least on campus -- at the computer center, with your printout stuffed in a cubbyhole awaiting pickup.

Many just used the Mac lab. You had to bring your own floppy disc and suffer through printouts on the ImageWriter.

And then there was SCO -- the Santa Cruz Operation -- bringing Unix to the unwashed IBM-PC masses (if you had a few thousand bucks to spare, I imagine). I never used SCO Unix and never knew anybody who worked there, but the idea that you could run Unix on a PC was huge for me. I remember them having some cool ads back in the day.