Wow

Story: The Real FLOSS Community and the "Faux FLOSS Fundamentalists"Total Replies: 34
Author Content
cabreh

Jul 24, 2009
7:52 AM EDT
Now I know where to go when I want to be insulted.

Being a Linux "user" since late 1993 when I ordered a Yggdrasil CD I find posts like this one rather offensive. I'm not a programmer outside some simple scripting for my work as a systems administrator. I have made bug reports but not any other contribution outside of paying for distributions at different times. Yet I feel I'm being told I'm a "Faux FLOSS Fundamentalist" because I don't happen to agree with Mr. Schlesinger about using MONO and hating Roy Schestowitz (though I can't be bother reading his stuff).

A lot of what he seems to be saying about others seems to apply equally well to himself.

I personally don't care if others want to use MONO and the handful of applications that use it. I will make no effort to have it totally banned from repositories. But, I likewise want to see it being optional and not a required part of a distribution I use.

I've been using Ubuntu pretty much exclusively since the 6.06 release. But, if I can't use upcoming versions without having MONO installed on my system I'll be looking elsewhere. If it comes to the point where there are no versions free of it I may as well just go back to using Windows and have a better .Net experience.

number6x

Jul 24, 2009
9:10 AM EDT
I think that being a user is a contribution. You set an example for those around you. Word of mouth is one of the most powerful ways to spread the use of FOSS.

Keep filing those bug reports though!(its easy in Ubuntu)
KernelShepard

Jul 24, 2009
10:25 AM EDT