Asus Eee-Box EB1501P "Intel Atom nettop" review

Forum: LXer Meta ForumTotal Replies: 14
Author Content
tmx

Dec 04, 2010
2:38 PM EDT
I went on a hype and bought this Asus EB1501P netttop to replace as my full time home pc. http://www.amazon.com/ASUS-Eee-Box-EB1501P-B016E-Nettop/dp/B...

It might sound stupid to replace a full-size quadcore pc. This nettop is marketed as a home theater companion, not a full blown desktop, but it is reasonable for my purpose. You have to excuse my ignorance on the performance expectation since its my first time buying and using an Intel Atom pc. My current mobo and gpu got RMA'ed and both still have issues. If I upgrade I have to buy new architectures, so almost a complete rebuild. The tower has 6 fans and make noises. I needed a small and quiet pc with enough power to occasionally play older 3D games. I don't need so much power to "encode videos" because I have a 2TB hdd on a usb dock.

The Asus EB1501P isn't much bigger than a Linksys router and still have an optical slot. It has one fan, but is relatively quiet and only spin at half speed at all time since the machine always stay cool. I immediately swapped out the 2.5" Seagate 5400rpm hdd for a WD Scorpio 7200rpm. Installing my customized Ubuntu (1gb iso) took about 8minutes and boot in 20seconds (minus POST screen). Ubuntu seems to detect all hardwares, except the infrared sensor to use the included remote control. Even the HDMI audio works (or maybe because I installed "alsa-firmware-loaders" package).

Normal tasks: The desktop experience is mostly painless for documenting and web browsing. It's not up for high res video encoding, but using ffmpeg to encode DVD to XVID at mobile res gets 25-40fps. I found out the Atom D525 cpu actually has two threads per core, a total of four. But this Asus comes with a single channel 2gb ram, not dual channel. I do think this bogs down a tiny performance.